Monday, November 20, 2017

SHTF Elite Box Oct 2017


SHTF Elite Box October 2017

     I have always been a bit of a skeptic when it comes to things like the Apocalypse or the end of days, so to speak. And then I met my fiance who is a major prepper and preparer for all things that are for when Sh*t hits the fan. He travels most of the time with a BOB (Bug Out Bag) That is stocked with essentials for if anything goes wrong. 

     I have to admit that with the changes the world is seeing lately, that I am totally getting on board with being prepared in case something actually does happen. Because I am the first to admit, if something was going to happen, I am not prepared and would have to rely on someone who was in order to survive. Luckily I have someone who is always prepared, but I want to get on board with that as well. 

     Lately I have been doing a lot of work with monthly subscription boxes and when I saw the SHTF Elite box, I knew it was right up our alley. The SHTF Elite box is a monthly subscription service, that each month will send you items, that will help in the event that the Shit Hits The Fan. The box is 89.99 a month and includes items that equaled 144.88 this month. 


The items in the box includes:
* Exclusive SHTF 3 Pc collapsible flasks with funnel - 9.99
* Ridge Runner Black EDC Pocket Knife - 12.99
* Adjustable Beam LED Flashlight - 9.99
* 1mm x 18m Galvanized Wire - 1.99
* Brass Alcohol Burner - 17.99
*Gaffer Tape - 1.99
*Uniden 16 Mile 22 Channel Two Way Radios - 29.99
*Wahoo Killer OD Green Companion Knife - 1.99
Grand Canyon Meal Replacement Bar - 1.99
ABS Military Skeletal Soldier Full Face Mask - 19.99
Wise Foods 12 Serving Entree 3-Pack - 19.99
UCO Blue Micro Lantern - 14.99

Total: $144.88




Okay so we decided a review isn't a review without trying some of these items out! 



So we tried the Savory Stroganoff from Wise Foods and we prepared it as we would if we were in an emergency situation with limited resources. So we prepared it with the emergency instructions that are on the package. It came out a bit more "runny" than we had expected, and what the pictures depict. I am thinking this is due to the way it was prepared. But with that said, it actually wasn't bad at all. It reminded me of a ticker soup, like a chowder only with noodles. And the flavor wasn't bad at all, it was a little diluted, again probably due to how it was prepared as the excess fluid wasn't cooked off. But in an emergency situation, that would be a 5 star meal! The flavor was decent, and it was simple to prepare and only required a bit of water.



The Uco Micro Lantern has to be one of my favorite items in the box. Its cute and portable, and sets off a nice amount of light when lit. It easily lit up my bathroom with the door shut and lights off, I might add that I have no windows in my bathroom, so it gets quite dark in there. This lantern is light weight and very well made. It shows on the product card that this retails for 14.99, I searched for the lantern through google and was unable to find it for anything under 21.99 plus shipping. 

I am thinking that the items listed on the product card with their prices are showing the lowest prices that the company was able to find. Which I respect highly, because it shows that they aren't marking their prices up in order to increase the box value. This was a huge plus for me!



The Trailblazer Alcohol Burner. So upon reading the instructions for the alcohol burner, which is conveniently printed on the top of the burner, we noticed that it suggests using alcohol "spirits". We didn't have any "spirits" so we imper-vised with some rubbing alcohol and decided we would give it a go and see how well this little burner works and about how long it would take to boil some water.  It only took 15 mins to get a nice rolling boil to the water, this was in a 4 cup sauce pan. On the stove it took 10 mins, so I don't think that an additional 5 mins is bad considering we are boiling water using rubbing alcohol. Which by the way, has a major fume and if you attempt to do this using rubbing alcohol, please do this outside!


My Overall Reaction:

     
     I think that the SHTF Elite Subscription box is excellent! It has a wide variety of items to help you survive in a less than ideal situation. I also think subscribing to the boxes is a great idea especially if you are looking to build your bug out bag on a budget, or maybe have a friend or family member that is looking to. 

      With the holiday around the corner, I also think that the SHTF boxes make a great gift! Its perfect for anyone that loves the outdoors, camping or prepping. A lot of the items that came in my box I am going to be placing in my bag that I keep in my car. I live in Maine and our winters can be pretty rough. I always have a bag in my car that can get me through a couple days if needed, in case my car breaks down, goes of the road or gets stuck somehow during the winter.

I would HIGHLY recommend the SHTF Elite box, but if you're looking for something smaller. SHTF has 3 different box sizes. 

The Basic Box - 19.99/Month
The Pro Box - 49.99/Month
The Elite Box - 89.99/Month 

Order yours today by CLICKING HERE

Monday, October 16, 2017

8th Annual YA Discovery Contest!

THE 8TH ANNUAL

YA DISCOVERY CONTEST

BEGINS NOVEMBER 1ST!!

No query? No pitch? No problem!



 Get in front of top YA Editors and Agents
with only the first 250 words of your YA novel!

Serendipity Literary Agency is hosting our eighth annual Young Adult Novel Discovery Contest.

Do you have a young adult novel—or a YA novel idea—tucked away for a rainy day? Have you been putting off pitching your idea simply because you’re not sure how to pitch an agent? No problem! All you have to do is submit the first 250 words of your novel and you can win exposure to editors and a critique of your manuscript by one of New York’s TOP literary agents Regina Brooks.
 
Regina Brooks is the CEO of Serendipity Literary Agency and the author of the award-winning book Writing Great Books For Young Adults, now available in its second edition.

—NOVEMBER IS NaNoWriMo—
In honor of National Novel Writing Month (
NaNoWriMo.org)—an international event where aspiring novelists are encouraged to write an entire novel in 30 days—this contest is meant to encourage the aspiring YA author to get started on that novel by offering an incentive for completing the first 250 words.

You too can join one of the many contest finalists who have gone on to get a top tier agent and an amazing publishing deal!
..............................................................................................................................................
..............................................................................................................................................
Testimonial

“I never had much luck with query letters. Writing about my book was harder than writing the book itself! So, when I saw the Discovery Contest, I jumped at the chance to let my book speak for itself. I was thrilled when I won…but not as thrilled as I was when I was offered representation. Getting my agent was just the start: what followed was invaluable revisions and development that transformed my book from a great story into an unforgettable journey. Shortly afterward, The Whitecoat’s Daughter was sold at auction, and is now due for publication with HarperCollins in 2018. We’re beginning work on foreign rights and talks with film agents and it’s hard to believe that all this started with winning a contest. I always said I just needed someone to read the book—not a query letter: the book­—and it turned out I was right. The Discovery Contest gave me the chance I needed, and I will always be grateful.” 
—Olivia Cole, “The Whitecoat’s Daughter”
(retitled "A Conspiracy of Stars")
(Garnered a two-book deal at auction with Katherine Tegen Books)

so… ENTER TO WIN NOVEMBER 1st!

Great Prizes
The Grand Prize Winner will have the opportunity to receive a full manuscript critique from YA literary agent Regina Brooks, plus a collection of gourmet teas from Possibiliteas.co!
 
The Top Five Entrants (including the Grand Prize Winner) will receive a 15-minute, one-on-one pitch session with Regina Brooks, one of New York's premier literary agents for young adult books.  They will also receive commentary on their submissions from editors at HarperCollins, Little, Brown, Macmillan, Skyhorse, Simon and Schuster, Abrams Books, Penguin Random House, Disney, and James Patterson’s new imprint, JIMMY Patterson.  In addition, they will receive a year's subscription to The Writer magazine!

First 50 Entrants receive a copy of Writing Great Books for Young Adults by Regina Brooks.


Here's How It Works 

Entering the contest is easy and the rules are simple. Entries are to be submitted via the contest website at serendipitylit.com/contest. Valid entries shall include the title and ONLY the first 250 words of your manuscript.
 
One entry per person; anyone age 14+ can apply. There is a $15 entry fee.  Open to the U.S. and Canada (void where prohibited).  Entries for the YA Novel Discovery Contest will be accepted from 12:01 am (ET) November 1st, 2017 until 11:59 pm November 30th, 2017 (ET).

YA literary agent Regina Brooks and her team will read all of the entries and determine the top 20 submissions.  These submissions will then be read by the following editors: 


Hannah Allaman (Disney)
Tiffany Lao (Henry Holt BFYR/ Macmillan)
Sasha Henriques (Little Brown, JIMMY Patterson Books/ Hachette)
Courtney Code (Abrams Books for Young Readers)
Kate Meltzer (G.P. Putnam's Sons BFYR/ Penguin Random House)
Sarah McCabe (Simon Pulse/ Simon and Schuster)
Alexa Pastor (Simon and Schuster BFYR/ Simon and Schuster)
Becky Herrick (Sky Pony Press)
Christine Krones (Houghton Mifflin Harcourt BFYR)
Lauren Smulski (Harlequin Teen/HarperCollins)
Alex Ulyett (Viking Children’s/ Penguin Random House)
and more...


These judges will whittle the top 20 down to five winners, including a Grand Prize Winner.
 
so… ENTER NOVEMBER 1st!


Thursday, October 5, 2017

Maine Women's Sailing Team World Champions!


All-Women Sailing Team From Maine

For the first time, an all-women team of sailors from Maine won first place for all-female finishers in the 2017 J/24 World Championship in Mississauga, Canada. The J/24 World Championships included qualified J/24 racers from all over the world. The championship consisted of ten races over five days of racing, the whole event spanning September 15-23, 2017. The Sea Bags Women’s Sailing Team finished in 39th place out of the 63 teams that competed in the World Championship.

 
While Sea Bags has a long history of supporting sailing regattas and sailing teams, including the 2016 Atlantic Cup, 2015 J/24 World Championships, 2009 J/24 Nationals, 2013 J/24 North Americans, the Offshore New England Championships, and the 2007 Horton/Nichol Olympic Campaign, this represents the first time the company has sent an all-women’s team to a World Championship race for competition on this scale and came back with quite an achievement.

 
Beth Shissler, President and COO at Sea Bags, says, “We could not be more proud of Erica and Jessica and their all-women’s team. They have worked so hard individually and together to win the Jager Women’s Trophy. “

 
Erica Beck Spencer, Skipper of the women’s sailing team says, "Our goal was to be the top women’s team and to reach that goal felt surreal.”

 
Accomplishing their goal was not an easy task as there were many obstacles they had to overcome. “We started off the event as the top team, but that is almost harder than coming from behind, as the other women’s teams were steadily getting better as the week went on,” added Spencer.

The above excerpt was taken from the Sea Bags press release on the team.



MY THOUGHTS:

This is an absolutely incredible feat! These women over came some incredible odds and brought home the J/24 World Championship in sailing!

They competed against the best sailing teams, from all over the world! This is the first time EVER that an all women's team from Maine has competed in the championship. And they brought their A-game! This is something that the team of 11 has worked towards since Erica Beck Spencer and Jessica Harris started the team three years ago.

I am truly amazed and proud to post this. These women are truly amazing! I cannot think of a more empowering group of ladies. After reading this myself, and reading blog posts on the team from the Sea Bags blog. I decided to expose my 7 year old daughter to the team and stories as well.

Well it has now been decided that my daughter Maddie now wants to be a sailor! When asked why she wanted to be a sailor now, she states " Mom, look at them! They are so strong, why wouldn't you want to be a sailor? I want to be just like them! Strong and powerful! Can we go sailing this weekend? I need to start now mom!"

We are now looking into sailing classes for my mini me. She gave a very convincing argument. Why wouldn't she want to be empowered by such an amazing team. It showed her that girls and women can accomplish anything when applying a lot of hard work. Isn't that what we want all our daughters feel? Accomplishment, empowerment, and that they can accomplish incredible things?

 
Imagination Designs